Flood control district and their tax terminated

Sara Konu


Pierce County property owners faced an additional $5 tax this year to go toward flood control, but angry taxpayers saw this tax disbanded before it was instated.

The Pierce County Flood Control Zone District was created last year to create ways to manage flooding. There are four major rivers within Pierce County, the Puyallup, White, Carbon and Nisqually rivers as well as three tributaries, the Greenwater River, Mashell River and South Prairie Creek, all of which contribute to yearly flood problems. Combined flooding threatens about 9,000 homes and 21,000 people.

The Flood Control Zone District intended to instate a $5 annual fee on all property owners in Pierce County in order to control flooding. Even property owners that are not directly affected by the flooding were expected to pay this tax and this had many people in an uproar.

Several cities and towns such as Bonney Lake, Eatonville, Edgewood, Fircrest, Gig Harbor, Lakewood, Milton, Ruston, Steilacoom, University Place and DuPont opposed being included in a zone that required they pay the $5 per parcel tax.

Cities and towns that would not reap the benefit of flood control argued that the district wasn’t legally formed and therefore could not impose the tax.

The flood district board members faced litigation and on Jan. 25 voted themselves suspended.

For now, Pierce County property owners can breathe easy in knowing that they don’t face additional taxes that do not directly benefit them.

Those who are in the flood zone or are affected by flooding must wait at least another year before seeing any drastic changes in the way flood management is handled.

The Puyallup Post is the award-winning news media of Pierce College Puyallup in Puyallup, Washington. Copyright The Puyallup Post 2018. Find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Youtube @thepuyalluppost

Flood control district and their tax terminated

by Sara Konu time to read: 1 min