Staff

2015-2016 Staff

Chase Charaba
Editor-in-Chief
It’s absolutely insane to think that I’m one of the co-editors-in-chief of The Puyallup Post for the 2016-17 school year. Last year I served as online/social media manager for The Post, but I became involved in journalism in 2012 as a reporter for the Emerald Ridge High School JagWire, where I eventually became co-editor-in-chief in 2014. I’ve covered a variety of topics throughout the years and I am committed to helping The Post grow into a multifaceted 21st century newsroom. Other than being involved in journalism I write epic/high fantasy novels (book one is sitting at 230 pages), continuously add to my growing collection of 500 vinyl records and make videos on YouTube. I am planning to transfer to University of Washington -Tacoma to earn my Bachelor’s of Science in IT, but my dream is to one day publish my novels.
EmailTwitter
Daniel Pollock
Managing Editor
I like writing. I’ve scribbled several short stories, a partial novel and one and a half screenplays. I started writing for fun when I was nine; I was frustrated with the silly mystery books aimed at my age group, so I wrote my own. The story was poorly worded and cliche’ with a rushed ending, but it was my first piece and I’ll never forget the thrill I felt after writing the final sentence. My writing was born from reading. At age 11 I read Dickens and at 13, Fitzgerald and Lee. When I’m not typing words onto a screen, or turning the tan pages of a novel, I cook. Before I was tall enough to ride a roller coaster, I cooked. Everyone I knew thought I would go on to culinary school. But for me cooking is a pastime, not a paycheck. Another hobby of mine is music. I play the piano, and (though, I’ve never actually played one) dream about owning an organ. This is my first job on a newspaper; I doubt it will be the last.
Colton Swanson
Reporter
My mood generally depends on how well the Mariners did. Beard enthusiast. I would love to become a beat writer for the Seattle Mariners but if I’m writing about sports then I will be satisfied. My passion for sports writing began in my junior year of high school when I created a Twitter page dedicated to my thoughts on the Mariners. From there, I found my way onto multiple sports websites where I covered the Mariners and a couple other teams throughout the season. If you need me, Safeco Field is the first place you should check.

Editor-in-Chief: Grace Amsden

gamsden@pierce.ctc.edu

Managing Editor: Armani Jackson

ajackson@pierce.ctc.edu

Online & Social Media Manager: Chase Charaba

ccharaba@pierce.ctc.edu

Office Manager/Online Reporter: Andrea Mendoza

amendoza@pierce.ctc.edu

Reporter/Online Team: Amber Gilliland

agilliland@pierce.ctc.edu

Online Team: Katie Fenton

kfenton@pierce.ctc.edu

Illustrator/Reporter: Lori Brock

lbrock@pierce.ctc.edu

Reporter: Hannah Pederson

hpederson@pierce.ctc.edu

Reporter: C.J. Robinson

crobinson@pierce.ctc.edu

Reporter: Alex Heldrich

aheldrich@pierce.ctc.edu

Production Manager/Designer: Steve Heeb

sheeb@pierce.ctc.edu

Adviser: Teresa Josten

tjosten@pierce.ctc.edu

Contact Us

Room C218 in the College Center building, Pierce College Puyallup

1601 39th Avenue SE Puyallup, WA 98374

Office phone: (253) 840-8496

Email: puypost@pierce.ctc.edu

For website errors or corrections, contact ccharaba@pierce.ctc.edu

Print Friendly, PDF & Email